Friday, January 7, 2011

New Beginnings

So far this new year has been full of new beginnings and changes. Last weekend I helped Aaron move into his old house that he is trying to sell. Anyone looking for a historic four-square in Chattanooga?? I had to ask. He's settled in here as much as possible but with hopes that it will be sold by summer's end.
My Christmas and new year was wonderful. My friends and family are so amazing and Ive never been so thankful. This past year would not have ended as it did without them. I really feel that I am moving forward and in the right direction. My heart no longer hurts as it did and Clay is not the first thing I think about when I wake up. Everyone told me that would take a while, nine months was plenty and I'm glad to be thinking of other things when I open my eyes each day. Divorce does incredible things to your body. Personally...I couldn't eat, seriously, I couldn't chew or swallow some days, I lost 30+ pounds, started smoking again, drank my weight in vodka, could sleep no more than a few hours at time and went from happy to crying in a split second. (Oh, and there was a ton of retail therapy happening as well) Each day I had no idea how I felt or even how I wanted to feel. I just got dressed and did what needed to be done. I think that is what saved me. I spent a few days here and there moping around but every day I got up, got dressed, and made myself leave the house and interact. Those interactions with friends and family are truly what helped me overcome the heartbreak. I was able to see just how many people loved me in the way I really wanted to be loved. Those of you who know me well know I am a TALKER ;-) and boy have we talked this divorce to death! but it helped. I loved getting everyone's input and advice.
I kept a video diary the first several months. It's really hard to watch but I know one day I'll look back at it and high five myself for prospering and overcoming such a traumatic blow to my heart.
So on to bigger and brighter. 2011 is my new start. This year is not tainted, nor will I allow it to be. I start spring semester in a few days and that will take up a great deal of my time. I've got some trips to plan, as I've always got to be going and doing ;-) This year I hope to travel with some friends that I've never gotten the opportunity to hit the road with. Heather and I are looking into driving to Montana this summer for our annual road trip. I'm sure Aaron and I will jaunt off a time or two before it's all said and done.
I guess I should share a little about Aaron. We met on eHarmony of all places. During the summer I decided that eHarmony might be a good distraction for me, never thinking I would actually meet someone. I just thought it would be fun to read profiles and email with the occasional match. Well, after only two weeks Aaron appeared. I was straight up from the get go letting him know what I had just been through. We've had some real ups and downs...as you can imagine. But we have a real genuine connection and share a great deal in common and I think 2011 will be the beginning of what I hope is a lastly relationship. He's good people!

My quick movie review: True Grit, great movie but crappy ending. After such an amazing story I just longed for a more impressive ending. I love you Phillip Morris, best movie I saw all of 2010. Hands down a great film in my book.

Currently I am reading Mystery and Manners by Flannery O'Conner, she's and acquired taste I know, but I am enjoying this book so far as she's never disappointed me.

2011 resolutions: eat less chocolate, continue to love as much as I can and show those around me how much they mean to me, walk Pete and Charlie more, buy fewer frivolous items, eat out less, smoke and drink only in social situations when it's most fun ;-)

Friday, December 24, 2010

Merry Merry


Well today is Christmas Eve and I am so excited!!! I think this is going to be a very special Christmas this year. Tonight I will be getting together with family over at my Mom's and stuffing my belly with yummy food. Tomorrow we will play Santa ;-) and then we plan to cook a nice brunch followed by a movie.
My trip to Boston was amazing. What an awesome time of year to visit there. We spent three days seeing the sights and dining on local cuisine. I had an amazing piece of sole(fish)...it was the first time I had that kind of fish and I loved it. Oh and I had a cannoli every night before bed. It was awesome. We took a tour of Boston Harbor, Harvard, and walked around Cambridge. We also stopped in to the corner store where Julia Child used to shop. That was pretty neat.
The family trip to Asheville was fun and eventful. Poor Kile had a bad reaction to some medications he was taking and I'm not sure he got to enjoy himself as much as he would have liked. The cabin we rented was really nice and had plenty of space for us all. The Biltmore was decorated beautifully, as always. We had a wonderful dinner the first night in downtown Asheville at a place called Mayfel's. I had no idea that Asheville was so vegetarian friendly and Mayfel's served the best black bean burger I have ever had. I have to go back and try out some of the other local places to eat. Oh...they are also really big on "farm to table" there which is very cool!
I have a few more weeks until spring semester starts and I hope to enjoy them to the fullest. I should be heading up to Chattanooga for the new year. At least that's the plan right now. Once school starts I'm not sure how much traveling I'll be able to do. Between work and these three classes I think I'll be fairly busy.
Well I'm off to pack the sleigh ;-) and head to Snellville. This is my first Christmas without Clay and while I'm a little sad about how different things are I am very excited to spend this time with my family and focus on them. I've never craved my family as I do right now and I just want to soak them up and enjoy every minuted of this holiday.
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!!
P.S. Movies I've seen recently: Black Swan(C), The Fighter(B)

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Whoops

So I missed blogging in November by one day...guess this one will count for two months ;-) Speaking of November, it was a pretty good month. Thanksgiving was amazing. We are still eating leftovers against our better judgement. Aaron came down from Chattanooga so he could make his formal introduction to the family and friends...it went very well, as you can imagine.
All my Christmas shopping is done and the tree is up. I should say most everything is wrapped and all ready under the tree too! I don't feel prepared but I must be. I have so much going on this month that I am hoping I can still embrace the season and enjoy it. I am heading to Boston next weekend and that is sure to get me in the christmas mood! Right before Christmas we have a family trip planned to Asheville. Visiting the Biltmore while it's all decorated is the best.
Movies to see...Harry Potter of course, Love and other drugs, All Good Thing, and 127 Hours.
School is over in a week and then I have a five week break. I'm looking forward to that. Oh the woes of taking one class ;-) Next semester is going to kick my butt.
I'm heading to Chattanooga this weekend for something called Main24. I don't quite have my head wrapped around what it is all about but I do know I am going to a party saturday night. That should be fun. You know I always come home from Chatt with fun stories ;-)
http://mainx24.com/

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving and is having a wonderful beginning to the holiday season.

Friday, October 29, 2010

From the Noog...again


Sorry it has been a month since I last blogged...guess I've been one busy bee. Over the past month I got a roommate, had a birthday, spent an amazing weekend in the mountains, attended the L5P Halloween parade, carved pumpkins, bought a car, went to Houston and did a ton of other remedial tasks.
Things are going great. I'm busy all the time, which is how I like it! Pete and I are in Chattanooga this weekend for Halloween. We have a big party to attend tomorrow night ;-) Charlie stayed behind to get some R&R at his Gammy's house. The weather is amazing and the leaves are at that perfect fall stage. I love this time of year. All of my favorite holidays and perfect weather!
School is going well, just registered for Spring classes yesterday. I am half way through this semester and not doing too bad. I should be doing better. Getting back in the swing of studying is a hard one for me. I was never that good at it to begin with.
We found out last week that my mom has a small brain tumor. At this point we are all very positive at it seems like the outcome will be in her favor. I take her to the specialist next week at Emory so hopefully we will know more soon.
On the movie front...It's Kind of a Funny Story, Hereafter, The Social Network and Howl are films I have seen recently. I recommend them all. Out of the four I suggest Hereafter and It's Kind of a Funny Story. I'm getting stoked about the two part Harry Potter film coming out in a few weeks. It's sad to know that the whole Harry Potter saga is coming to a end soon.

Monday, September 27, 2010

From the Noog

Well I am glad to report that physics is not longer a pain in my backside! I've dropped it and moved on. I have to tell you my stress level has decreased and I no longer bust through brick walls on Tuesday and Thursday nights. My major has been changed to Art Studio from Interior Design. I will still take interior design classes but I will also study photography, art history, and textiles. It's kind of a basic art degree if you will but I get to choose the areas of study.
I've seen a few movies as of late. Never let me go and The Town. I thought that The Town was great and a well rounded action packed movie with a light steak of romance running through it. Never let me go was a downer. You don't even need to know that this movie exists. I really want to see Wall Street and The Social Network. Hopefully I'll get those knocked out this week.
This week is my 29th birthday. I'm not so sure how to feel about turning 29. Before my divorce I don't think I would have thought anything about it but now 29 feels old and impending. I guess 29 is just as good as any other age to start your life over. I was talking to a friend last night about divorce and how long it takes to start feeling normal again. General consensus says two years. I'm a quarter of the way in so far! It truly is amazing how much a "break-up" can jar your life. It seeps into the least expected places and just keeps creeping up on you. It's one hell of a learning experience but it does leave you foggy...I guess the fog will lift in 18 months ;-)

Sunday, September 12, 2010

Bloggy blog

Decided it was time to check in and update...my world is still spinning and physics still sucks. I'm not sure what the future holds for this physics class. I intend to meet with my adviser soon and see what can be done to maybe sidestep this BS or maybe I'll just suck it up. I am having fun just going to school though.
I've been in a funky mood this past week or so and I can only blame it on "The Process". I'm ready to be back to myself but the ride is not over yet. I'm really sorry to those around me who have suffered because I don't have my act together right now. It hurts me just as much as it hurts you...believe me.
I went to the Yellow Daisy Festival with Heather and Lauren this past weekend and boy did we get an eye full. The people watching was amazing. Our breakfast at IHOP had a good side of eye candy too. It was good to see them both. I don't feel like I seen either of them near enough. I'm heading to a cabin in the woods this coming weekend. I'll be taking the boys and my mom with me. I don't plan to do anything but read and reflect. Heck I don't even plan to shower if I can help it! There is a hot tub so maybe that can count as a bath ;-) I'm putting a lot of weight on this little jaunt and I hope it pays off. I just want to clear my head and come home feeling positive about the future. I've never been so out of sorts and restless. Wish me luck!
The weather is starting to cool just a little and it's so exciting because fall is right around the corner. This is my time of year and I am so looking forward to enjoying every minute of it. Thanksgiving is going to rock this year!! I want to explore some new dishes and try to make it more about fresh foods instead of casseroles made of canned stuff...although those are pretty good ;-)
Well I'm off to dive into a book. It's been months since I've read anything other than the paper or The Week so I am looking forward to getting back into a novel.

Monday, August 30, 2010

Study study study

All I can think about is reading for school and studying. It's taken over my world ;-) Constantly having something hanging over my head is not my favorite thing but it's definitely keeping me on my toes. It was cool to the read in the paper this morning about GSU's first football game coming up this week and their marching band. They have a color guard...ummm why am I not on it??? I wonder if there is an age limit ;-) Haha!

This past weekend was great. Friday night I went with family to see Shawn Mullins perform. It was really great to see all those guys but also a little strange. This was my first interaction with people in the "business" who know the truth about what has happened. All in all it was a good show and it was great to see Kip and the rest of the guys. Saturday started with a trip to the growers outlet for fall flowers. $28 got me a trunk full. Even if they don't last but two months I will have gotten my moneys worth. After a quick shower and a stab at my physics homework Heather picked me up and we went to see the Dali exhibit at the High Museum. If you have any appreciation for Dali this is a must see. Heather and I were both pleasantly surprised and I'll be going back next weekend to take another friend...it was that good! Saturday evening was dedicated to physics and then hanging out with my parents, dinner and a movie at home. Sunday I woke up not feeling so hot. After a lazy morning I headed home and spent the rest of the day with my nose in school books. Today I will do much of the same...nose in a book. I'm trying to get all my reading done for next week as well so I can enjoy the labor day weekend with a clear conscience.

Looks like Charlie is going to have to go to the vet this week. He's been looking really funny...he is all bloated and just looks huge. He's bloated all the time! He's also started doing this thing where he walks and pees. If you know Charlie, you know he is very particular, and behavior such as this would not be acceptable to him. I don't think he even knows he's doing it. Keep your fingers crossed that it's nothing but me overreacting.